The Delaware and Raritan Canal Commission was established in October, 1974, when Governor Brendan Byrne signed the D&R Canal State Park Law. The Commission was created to accomplish three main tasks:

To review and approve, reject or modify any action by
the State in the Canal Park, or any permit for action
in the park;

To undertake planning for the development of the Canal Park; &

To prepare and administer a land use regulatory program that will protect the Canal Park from the harmful impacts of new development in central New Jersey.

Meeting Notice Announcement
The next Delaware & Raritan Canal Commission monthly meeting will take place on
WEDNESDAY, April 19, 2017 at 10:00 AM. The meeting will be held at
the Prallsville Mills in Stockton, New Jersey. Formal action will be taken
at this meeting.

  • Minutes of the January 18, 2017 Commission Meeting
  • Minutes of the February 15, 2016 Commission Meeting

  • Agenda for the April 19, 2017 Commission Meeting

    A synopsis of the projects to be reviewed at this meeting have been posted here in PDF file format and are listed below. To view/print one, or all, simply choose the item (one at a time) from the drop-down list below.

    D & R Canal State Park Master Plan, 2nd Edition, 1989

    Projects on State Property

    Regulations For The Review Zone of the Delaware and Raritan Canal State Park

    The Canal Commission's Review Zone is now a layer on the Department of Environmental Protections i-MapNJ DEP, an interactive map that allows users to access and interact
    with DEP data through their web browser. To access the map, click on the link below.

    The D & R Canal Commission Interactive Review Zone Map on i-MapNJ DEP

    For those that have access to the appropriate GIS software, our Review Zone map can
    also be viewed by downloading and saving the necessary files to their computers.
    Those files have been zipped into one and are available here for download. Click on the link
    below to access the zipped file.

    The D & R Canal Commission Review Zone Map   (File Size: 430KB)

    Members of the Commission
    Bob Martin, Commissioner, DEP
    Julia Cobb Allen
    Lynn Fleming, Rep. for Commissioner Martin
    Mary Allessio Leck
    John S. Loos, Vice Chairman
    Phillip Lubitz
    Douglas H. Palmer
    Bruce D. Stout
    Ed Trzaska
    Marlen Dooley, Executive Director

    Melissa Abatemarco, Deputy Attorney General

    Joseph Ruggeri, PE, Review Zone Officer

    Damian Friebel, Review Zone Officer

    M. Colleen Christie Maloney, Admin. Assistant

    Return To Entrance Page

    Contact us via e-mail!